The power of the impossibles 2

The power of the impossibles 2
不可能界的力量
The Other side of Psychoanalysis
精神分析学的另一面貌
By Jacques Lacan
雅克、拉岡

Vincnnes, precisely.

确实就是在万塞纳大学。

They were, it seems, pleased with what I said there, pleased with me. It wasn’t reciprocal. I was not very pleased with Vincennes.

他们似乎对於我在那里演讲的内容很满意,对於我很满意。可是这是单方面的。我对於万塞纳大学並不满意。

Despite there being one nice person who tried to fill up the first row, to make a Vincennes, there was clearly no one from Vincennes there, or hardly anyone, only the ears of those most worthy of awarding me a good mark. It was not quite what I had been expecting, especially as my teaching, it seems, has been propagated there. There are times when I can be aware of a certain slack.

儘管有一位好心人设法填补上第一排位置,造成万塞纳大学的人员在座的印象,显而易见地,並没有万塞纳大学的人员,几乎就是没有,只有那些平常爱护我的听众在捧我的场面。那种场景实在是出乎我原先的期望之外,特别是我的教学似乎已经在那里颇有名声。但是,有时还是会遭遇到这样冷清的场面。

But then, there was nonetheless just what was needed to indicate to us the point of agreement that there can be between la Minute and Les Temps modernes. I only mention it because , as you will see, this touches on today’s topic—how to behave in the face of culture.

然后,我们要谈到一个「分析师弥纽与病患玛德尼斯」之间秘密录音引起的丑闻。这给我们指示,他们两者之间会有需要定一个协议书。你们明白,我提到它,只是因为这触及到今天的议题:面对八卦文化,我们应该如何自处。

Sometimes something minor is enough to throw a glimmer of light, a recollection which nobody knows how I myself became aware of. Once you recall the publication of a certain tape recording in Les Temps modernes, the relationship with La Minute is striking? Try this, it’s fascinating, I have done it. You cut out paragraphs from the two newspapers, you mix them up together somewhere, and you draw them out. I assure you that, except for the paper, it won’t be so easy to work out which is which.

有时,某件细微小事就足以让我们看出它的端倪,让我回想到没有人会知道我会知道的回忆。一但你回想到「马德尼斯」的某些录音带的公佈发行,那跟分析师弥纽之间的关系会轰动一时。你们不妨尝试一下,那是很耐人寻味,我就曾经尝试过。你们将两家报纸的一些报导剪下来,将它们混合在一起,然后再抽出来。我告诉你们,除了报纸以外,我们不容易分得清楚,哪一部分是哪一家报导。

This is what must make it possible for us to take the question in another way than on the basis of the objection I made just before to touching on things in a certain tone, with a certain word, out of fear that they might get carried away by buffoonery. Begin, instead, with the following fact, that the buffoonery is already present. Perhaps, by adding a bit of shame to the mix, who knows, this might keep it in check.

这就是为什麽我们能够以另外一种方式,来看待这个问题,而不根据我原先所反对的以某种语调,以某个字眼来触及这些事情,因为我担心事情会被一些八卦名嘴弄混杂了。代替的,让我们从以下的事实开始,八卦名嘴总是存在。或许,他们借题发挥时,若有点羞愧的心,说不一定会稍微有一点自我节制。

In short, I am playing the game of ‘ You hear me because I am talking to you.” Otherwise, there would , rather, be an objection to you hearing me, since in many cases this prevents you from hearing what I am saying. And it’s a pity, for at least the younger ones among you have for a fair while now also been capable of saying it without me. You lack for that, precisely, a bit of shame. It might come to you.

总之,我正在扮演「你听我说,是因为我正在跟你说话」的遊戏。否则,他们宁可反对你们来听我演讲,因为在许多情况,这样就可以阻挡你们无法听到我正在说些什麽。这样就很可惜,因为在你们当中,至少有一些年轻朋友长久以来,不必靠我,就有能力独当一面。準确地,你们只是缺乏那一点,那一点羞愧。你们总会感到那一点羞愧。

Obviously, you do not find it under the hooves of horses, of a hobby-horse even less, but the furrows of the alethosphere, as I said, that take care of you, and even careful you all alive already, would perhaps already be quite a sufficient load of shame.

显而易见的,你们发现羞愧,不是在习惯的生活中,更不是在因循苟且中,而是在媒体氛围的窠臼里。如我所说的,它们照顾你们,甚至小心翼翼,要你们大家生活愉快,那就足够给你们羞愧的负担。

Appreciate why it was that Pascal and Kant fidgeted about like two valets in the process of acting like Vatel with respect to you. There has been a lack of truth up above for three centuries. The service has arrived nevertheless, reheating on demand, even as the musician has from time to time, as you know. Don’t make such a long face, you are being served, you can say that there is no longer any shame.

你们不妨欣赏一下,为什麽巴斯卡跟康德会像在凡尔赛宫的两位僕役长,各为其主地针锋相对,争论不已。三百年来,我们最缺乏的就是以真理为依归的真诚。到处充斥的只是供不应求的的伺候僕役,甚至有时候连音乐家也难免,如你们所知道。但是不要因此就闷闷不乐,你们现在正在受人伺候,你们能够说,那不再是什麽羞愧的事情。

These boxes about which, when I say that they are empty of chatter, you wonder what is bothering me—well then, quickly make provision in them for enough shame so that when the festivities begin, there is no lack of seasoning.

这些瓶罐里面包含足够的羞愧,可以迅速供应,这样,当庆宴开始时,就不必担心会缺乏调味料。当我说这些瓶罐的里面的八卦香料都空了,你们会想要知道,我所遭受的困扰是什麽。

You will say to me, “ What’s the use of shame? If that is what the other side of psychoanalysis is, we don’t want any.” My reply to you, “ You’ve got enough to open a shop.’ If you are not yet aware of this, then do a bit of analysis, as they say. You will see this vapid air of yours run up against an outlandish shame of living.

你们会问我,「羞愧的用途是什麽?假如那就是精神分析学的另外一面,那我们宁可不要。」我对你们的回答是:「你们拥有的羞愧,已经足够开一家店铺了。」假如你们还没有觉悟到这一点,那麽去做一些精神分析的辅导吧,如人们所说的。你们将会看到,你们的这个恹恹无神的气色,酝酿的背景正是生活中,奇形怪状的羞愧。

雄伯译
springherohsiung@gmail.com

Leave a comment