Anxiety 108 Jacques Lacan

Anxiety 108

Jacques Lacan
雅克 拉康

THE SEMINAR OF JACQUES LACAN
BOOK X
雅克、拉康研討會第十冊

ANXIETY 論焦慮

1962 – 1963
Seminar 15: Wednesday 20 March 1963

I would not go so far as to say that this is the common or the regular position. This can only take on its value from what follows in the constellation as it is going to be unfolded by the associations which make up this monologue. Here then she is going to speak about her own state, she speaks about it – one swallow does not make a summer – with a particular precision.

我不願意跨張地說,這是共同或是常有的立場。它的意義的形成,只能從以下的情意綜來觀察。它的意義將會被展開,從組成這篇喃喃自語的聯想。在此,她將要談論到她自己的狀況,她談論到它,一針見血地。(一燕不成夏)。

Tumescence not being the privilege of the man, I think, I am not surprised that she, who has a quite normal sexuality – I am speaking about this woman – should testify, should say that, if for example when she is driving something alarms her which moves her say: “Good God! a car!”, well then, inexplicably, this is what strikes her that day: she becomes aware of the existence of a vaginal swelling which she notes as responding at certain times to the sudden emergence in her field of any specific object whatsoever which in appearance is quite foreign to sexual images or space. This state, she says, which is not disagreeable, but rather inconvenient in its nature, goes away by itself.

我認為,陽具勃起並不是男人的特權。她擁有相當正常的性生活,這不足為奇。
我正在談論的這個女人,她應該證實,應該說,例如,當她正在開車時,某件事情使她驚嚇一下,使她喊出:「我的天!一部汽車!」然後,莫名其妙地,這個那一天,她印象最為深刻的地方:她深深體會到,她的女陰勃起的存在。她將它解釋為在某些時刻的回應,當有任何明確的客體突然的出現在她的領域。在外表上,這跟性的意象或是空間,似乎風馬牛不相及。可是她說,這個狀況並不是令人不愉快,性質上僅是非常不方便,它自動會消失。

At that point, she says, it bothers me to link up with what I am going to tell you, because of course it is not related. She tells me then that every one of her initiatives is dedicated to me, to myself. “I say it is” – I think you have understood for some time: I am her analyst – “I cannot say consecrated, that (8) would mean doing it with a certain aim.

在那個時候,她說,我感到困擾的是,要將我告訴你的話聯想起來。因為它當然不相關。然後她告訴我,她的每一個建議都是專門針對著我,針對著我自己。「我說這是、、、」(我認為你們已經暸解有一段時間,因為我是她的精神分析師。)「我不能說是多麼聖潔,因為那等於是說我別用企圖。」

No, any object whatsoever obliges me to evoke you as a witness, not even to have the approval of what I see. No, simply the look. In saying that, I am even going a little too far. Let us say that this look helps me to get its meaning from everything.”

不,任何的客體都會激勵我召喚你充當一個證人,甚至不必徵求我同意,對於她看見的東西。不,僅是神色就夠了。當我那樣說的時候,我甚至就有點逾越分寸了。讓我們這樣說,這個神色幫忙我從每一樣東西獲得它的意義。

At this point, the ironic evocation of the theme encountered at a younger stage of her life, of the well-known title of the play by Steve Fasseur “Je vivrai un grand amour”. Had she experienced at other moments of her life this reference to the other? This made her refer back to the beginning of her married life, then go further and testify in effect to the one who had been in effect, the one who is never forgotten, her first love.

在這個時刻,史提夫、法西爾的戲劇的著名的劇名「偉大的愛與我同在」,她年少時代觀看過,突然跟主題聯想在一起,具有反諷的意味。在她生命的其他時刻,她曾經經驗過對於大它者的指稱嗎?這使她又回述她的婚姻生活的開始,更進一步以事實證明,對於這麼一個人,他實際上是她的初戀,永遠沒有被她忘記的人。

It was a student from whom she was quickly parted, with whom she remained in correspondence in the full sense of the term.

她很快就跟她初戀的那個學生分道揚鑣,可是形式上雖然分離,心目中她始終跟他保持聯繫。

And everything that she wrote to him, she says, was really “a tissue of lies”.

她寫給他的信,她說,每一件事情都是一連串的謊言。

“I created a character bit by bit, what I wanted to be in his
eyes, and what I in no way was. It was, I fear, a purely
romantic enterprise which I pursued in the most obstinate way”.

「我一點一滴地創造一個人物,我在他眼中希望成為的人物,其實我根本不是那個樣子。我恐怕,那純粹是一個浪漫的企圖,我冥頑不舍地追求。」

To envelop myself, she says, in a kind of cocoon. She adds very gently: “You know, it was not easy for him to get over it …….. ”

她說:為了要我自己包裹在某種的蠶繭裏。她補充說:「你知道,要讓他忘掉這段感情,並不容易、、、」

At this point, she comes back on what she does with reference to me personally: “What I am striving to be here is the complete
opposite: I try always to be true with you. I am not writing a novel when I am with you; I write it when I am not with you” .

在這個時刻,她回頭談論她個人對於我的看法:「我在這裏所要追求的是完全相反的東西:我總是設法跟你誠實面對。當我跟你同在的時候,我沒有杜撰幻想小說。我不跟你在一起時,我才會這樣杜撰。」

She returns to the weaving, always thread by thread, of this
dedicating of every gesture which is not necessarily a gesture
which she thinks would please me, nor even one which is
necessarily one that agrees with me. It cannot be said that she forces her talent. What she wants after all, is not so much that I should look at her, it is that my look should come to substitute for her own: “It is the help of yourself that I summon. My own look is not enough to capture everything that is to be absorbed from the outside. It is not a matter of watching me doing something, it is a matter of doing something for me.”

她回到這個編織,總是一線一線地,專注於每一個姿態。那未必是她認為會討好我的姿態,甚至也不是一個會跟我相和諧的姿態。我們不能個說,她已經江郎才盡了。畢竟,她所要的,並不是我應該看著她,而是我的眼光應該代替她自己的眼光:「我召喚的是你自己的幫忙。我自己的眼光,並不足夠吸引每一樣從外界應該被吸收的東西。問題不是要看著我做某件事,問題是要替我做某件事。」

In short, I will finish here with something that I still have a large page on from which I only wish to extract the only word of bad taste which occurs on this final page:

總之,我在此跟某件事情作一了結。我依舊還有一大頁,我只希望抽取發生在最後一頁的唯一低俗的話:

“I am,” she says, “operated by remote control, which is not in any way a metaphor, believe me. There is no feeling of being
influenced. But if I make use of this formula, it is in order to remind you that you may have read in the papers about this left- (9) wing figure who after being conned in a bogus assassination attempt, thought he ought to give this immortal example that in politics the left is in effect always remotely controlled by the right. This is the way moreover that a strict relation of parity can be established between these two parts.”

她說:「我被遙控器所操控,這個遙控器完全不是一個比喻,請相信我。我並沒有受到影響的感覺。但是假如我利用這個公式,那是為了要提醒你,你可能已經在檔中閱讀到這個左派的人物。有一次在一個贗造的謀殺企圖被欺騙後,他認為他應該提供這個不朽的例子,在政治方面,左派實際上總是被右派所遙控。而且,這是一個方式,在左派跟右派之間能夠建立一個勢均力敵的關係。」

So then where does all of this lead us? To the vase, to the
feminine vase: is it empty, is it full? It does not matter,
since even if it is, as my patient says, to be consumed
stupidly, it is sufficient in itself. It lacks nothing. The
presence of the object there is, as one might say, an addition.

這一切會引導我們去哪里?引導到花瓶,引導到女性的花瓶:它是空的嗎?它是滿地嗎?這並不重要,因為即使它應該被愚蠢地消耗掉,如我的病人所說的,它本身也是自給自足的。它什麼都不欠缺。這個客體存在那裏,是多餘的,我不妨這樣說。

陳春雄譯
32hsiung@pchome.com.tw
http;//springhero.wordpress.com

Leave a comment